Five major darts tournament final whitewashings


Major darts final whitewashings

It’s never nice being whitewashed in darts, or in fact any sport, and even less so in front of a packed audience with viewers on TV hoping for an epic final in the biggest events.

However, unfortunately for some it has happened a number of times in both the PDC and BDO over the years, and so ahead of the 2017 PDC World Championship, Coral pick out five major darts final whitewashings (all of which were in sets rather than legs)…

Phil Taylor 7-0 Peter Manley: 2002 PDC World Championship

We start off with Taylor (9/1 to win the 2017 tournament), who has actually claimed a whopping four whitewashings in PDC World Championship finals, with three of them amazingly coming against old foe Manley.

The duo were known for a long-standing feud ever since this final in 2002, after Taylor also defeated him 6-0 in the 1998 edition, as One Dart refused to shake The Power’s hand after his humiliation in 2002.

Of course, the duo were to meet again in the final of this tournament in 2006, and Taylor, who whitewashed both Dave Askew and John Part in the previous two rounds too, ran out a 7-0 victor once more.

Relive the famous moment…

Dennis Priestley 6-0 Eric Bristow: 1991 BDO World Championship

On to two former absolute greats of the game, but this time in the BDO version before the PDC was formed, Priestley smashed Bristow, who then had the most world titles with five, by a 6-0 scoreline.

It was to be The Menace’s first of two championships, and what a way it was to claim his maiden major against the-then greatest ever player.

Check out the end of that fixture…

Phil Taylor 6-0 Dave Chisnall: 2013 World Grand Prix

Back to Taylor, this time most recently in the double in/double out World Grand Prix event when he trounced Chizzy in the latter’s first ever major final.

The Power is known for his ruthlessness and didn’t even give the young Englishman a chance in this contest.

Chinsall didn’t even claim a leg in any of the first five sets, though did eventually win two in the sixth, but by then it was too little too late as Taylor closed it out 6-0.

John Part 6-0 Bobby George: 1994 BDO World Championship

In the first BDO World Championship since 16 stars formed the PDC, now-legendary duo Part and George were the two to battle it out in the final.

Although Darth Maple is now a three-time world champion and one of the all-time greats, he struggled on the circuit for a number of years after this win to deny the King of Bling a first ever major.

But Part most notably dropped just one set on his way to claiming that title in 1994 after whitewashing the likes of Ronnie Baxter and Peter Lim too, to match Bristow and Taylor’s feats in 1984 and 2001 respectively.

Relive the full final below. How they’ve changed!

Ted Hankey 6-0 Ronnie Baxter: 2000 BDO World Championship

Speaking of Baxter, he was also whitewashed by Hankey but this time in the 2000 BDO Worlds final.

In a star-studded event featuring the likes of Raymond van Barneveld, Martin Adams, Mervyn King, Andy Fordham, Co Stompe, Wayne Mardle and Steve Beaton, it was The Count who had the last laugh.

It was to be Hankey’s first of two World Championship titles, and finished in style with a 170 checkout. The 2000 BDO final is the shortest in the tournament’s history too after just 46 minutes.

List of major darts final whitewashings

1976 BDO World Masters: John Lowe 3-0 Phil Obbard
1979 BDO World Championship: John Lowe 5-0 Leighton Rees
1979 BDO World Masters: Eric Bristow 2-0 Allan Hogg
1980 BDO World Masters: John Lowe 2-0 Rab Smith
1985 BDO World Masters: Dave Whitcombe 3-0 Ray Farrell
1986 BDO World Championship: Eric Bristow 6-0 Dave Whitcombe
1991 BDO World Championship: Dennis Priestley 6-0 Eric Bristow
1994 BDO World Championship: John Part 6-0 Bobby George
1995 BDO World Masters: Erik Clarys 3-0 Richie Burnett
2000 BDO World Championship: Ted Hankey 6-0 Ronnie Baxter
2002 PDC Las Vegas Desert Classic: Phil Taylor 3-0 Ronnie Baxter
2002 PDC World Championship: Phil Taylor 7-0 Peter Manley
2002 BDO World Darts Trophy: Tony David 6-0 Tony O’Shea
2008 PDC US Open: Phil Taylor 3-0 Colin Lloyd
2012 BDO Zuiderduin Masters: Stephen Bunting 5-0 Alan Norris
2013 BDO World Masters: Stephen Bunting 7-0 James Wilson
2013 PDC World Grand Prix: Phil Taylor 6-0 Dave Chisnall
2014 BDO Zuiderduin Masters: Jamie Hughes 5-0 Gary Robson


For more darting features, tips and previews, check out our extensive archive.

Latest Articles