Juddmonte International Stakes, York, horse racing
Home  »    »  Juddmonte International Stakes: All you need to know

Juddmonte International Stakes: All you need to know

| 16.08.2022

Where and when is the Juddmonte International Stakes?

The race takes place on the first day of the Ebor Festival at York Racecourse and is part of the QIPCO British Champions Series. The Juddmonte International Stakes 2022 is on August 17 at 3.35pm.

What is the Juddmonte International Stakes?

The International Stakes is a Group 1 middle-distance race run over a distance of one mile, two furlongs and 56 yards. Total prize money is £1million, with £567,100 going to the winner.

The race is open to horses aged three years or older and has been run since 1972, with Juddmonte taking over as sponsors in 1989, hence the race now being commonly known as the Juddmonte International.

Juddmonte International Stakes news and analysis

The Coral ambassador previews his long-awaited ride on Baaeed over a mile and a quarter.

A look at all the horses involved in the feature race on day one of the Ebor Festival at York.

Baaeed will face five rivals when he puts his unbeaten record on the line in the Juddmonte International at York on Wednesday.

Charlie Appleby is confident Native Trail is firing on all cylinders ahead of his tilt at the Juddmonte International at York on Wednesday.

Believe it or not, it is already 10 years since Frankel scorched the famous Knavesmire turf to win the Juddmonte International at York.

State Of Rest will head to the Prix Jacques le Marois at Deauville on Sunday rather than lining up in the Juddmonte International at York next week.

Sir Busker may be a 33/1 outsider with Coral for the Juddmonte International, yet trainer William Knight is still keen to “take a crack” at the Group One prize following his latest success.

Juddmonte International Stakes odds

Check out Coral’s latest betting odds for the big race

Juddmonte International Stakes records

Three horses have won the race on more than one occasion, with Dahlia, Ezzoud and Halling all winning back-to-back races.

Lester Piggott and Frankie Dettori have the most wins as jockeys with five apiece.

The leading trainers in this race are Sir Michael Stoute and Aidan O’Brien with six wins each.

Juddmonte International Stakes winners

The race attracts some of the best horses from around the world and has produced some famous winners down the years. Here is a full list of all the champions since 1972:

2021 – Mishriff

Mishriff, horse racing

2020 – Ghaiyyath

2019 – Japan

2018 – Roaring Lion

2017 – Ulysses

2016 – Postponed

2015 – Arabian Queen

2014 – Australian

2013 – Declaration of War

2012 – Frankel

2011 – Twice Over

2010 – Rip Van Winkle

2009 – Sea The Stars

2008 – Duke Of Marmalade

2007 – Authorized

2006 – Notnowcato

2005 – Electrocutionist

2004 – Sulamani

2003 – Falbrav

2002 – Nayef

2001 – Sakhee

2000 – Giant’s Causeway

1999 – Royal Anthem

1998 – One So Wonderful

1997 – Singspiel

1996 – Halling

1995 – Halling

1994 – Ezzoud

1993 – Ezzoud

1992 – Rodrigo De Triano

1991 – Terimon

1990 – In The Groove

1989 – Ile De Chypre

1988 – Shady Heights

1987 – Triptych

1986 – Shardari

1985 – Commanche Run

1984 – Cormorant Wood

1983 – Caerleon

1982 – Assert

1981 – Beldale Flutter

1980 – Master Willie

1979 – Troy

1978 – Hawaiian Sound

1977 – Relkino

1976 – Wollow

1975 – Dahlia

1974 – Dahlia

1973 – Moulton

1972 – Roberto

View the latest horse racing odds



Andrew McDermott

Andrew is a sports betting content journalist at PA Media. He is a lifelong Huddersfield Town fan but when he isn't reminiscing about their Premier League days he is also a junior cricket coach and enjoys cycling.