Vadeni, Coral-Eclipse, horse racing
Home  »    »  Coral-Eclipse: All you need to know

Coral-Eclipse: All you need to know

| 07.07.2023

Where and when is the Coral-Eclipse?

The race takes place every year in early July at Sandown Park. The Coral-Eclipse 2023 was on Saturday July 8 at 3.40pm.

What is the Coral-Eclipse?

The Group 1 flat race is open to horses aged three years and above. It is run over one mile, one furlong and 209 yards. Named after a legendary 18th-century racehorse called Eclipse, it has been run since 1886 and sponsored by Coral since 1976.

Coral-Eclipse news

Paddington saw off the tenacious challenge of Emily Upjohn by half a length in a thrilling Coral-Eclipse 2023 at Sandown.

Should Aidan O’Brien triumph with Paddington at Sandown, he will create yet another piece of Turf history as the trainer with the most Coral-Eclipse wins.

The jockey and Coral ambassador talks about the history of the race and the qualities needed in a winning horse.

The three-year-old would be stepping up to 10 furlongs for the first time in Esher following his Irish 2,000 Guineas and St James’s Palace Stakes wins, while the year older Emily Upjohn will be dropping back from a mile and a half after landing the Coronation Cup at Epsom last month.

Tom Marquand is looking forward to being reunited with Dubai Honour for the Coral-Eclipse. The duo are well acquainted and teamed up in Australia in the spring for the second leg of the gelding’s Ranvet Stakes and Queen Elizabeth Stakes double.

William Buick is to replace suspended Frankie Dettori on Emily Upjohn in the Coral-Eclipse after partnering the John and Thady Gosden-trained filly in a piece of work at Newmarket on Saturday morning.

Frankie Dettori will miss the ride on Coral-Eclipse favourite Emily Upjohn at Sandown after failing in his appeal against the nine-day careless riding ban imposed for his ride on Saga at Royal Ascot.

Vadeni provided France with a rare winner of the Coral-Eclipse in a thrilling finish which saw the younger generation prevail. The French Derby winner was a first Sandown runner for French training great Jean-Claude Rouget and a first UK winner for his owner the Aga Khan since Harzand claimed the Derby in 2016.

Watch Vadeni’s magnificent performance from a unique angle.

Darryll Holland feels Falbrav would rate as one of the best winners of the Coral-Eclipse in any era – but two decades later admits he is still smarting from the colt’s defeat in the King George VI And Queen Elizabeth Stakes.

Ever wondered what it’s like to ride in the Coral-Eclipse at Sandown? Watch incredible Jockey Cam footage from Tom Marquand’s ride on Addeybb to find out.

St Mark’s Basilica put up a hugely impressive display to beat top-class older horses Addeybb and Mishriff.

The jockey discusses his memories of winning the Coral-Eclipse after edging out Barney Roy in a thriller.

Connections of Al Kazeem, including owner-breeder John Deer and trainer Roger Charlton, recall his victory in the Coral-Eclipse 2013.

Coral-Eclipse records

Five horses have won the race on more than one occasion; Orme, Buchan, Polyphontes, Mtoto and Halling.

Three trainers have enjoyed six wins in the race, with Aidan O’Brien reaching that mark in 2021 to join Alex Taylor Jnr and Sir Michael Stoute.

Lester Piggott is the top jockey in the race with seven wins, the last of which was on Artaius in 1977.

Coral-Eclipse winners

Five of the best victors of the race

Here is every winner of the race since Coral’s sponsorship began in 1976:

2023 – Paddington

2022 – Vadeni

2021 – St Mark’s Basilica

2020 – Ghaiyyath

2019 – Enable

2018 – Roaring Lion

2017 – Ulysses

2016 – Hawkbill

2015 – Golden Horn

2014 – Mukhadram

2013 – Al Kazeem

2012 – Nathaniel

2011 – So You Think

2010 – Twice Over

2009 – Sea The Stars

2008 – Mount Nelson

2007 – Notnowcato

2006 – David Junior

2005 – Oratorio

2004 – Refuse To Bend

2003 – Falbrav

2002 – Hawk Wing

2001 – Medicean

2000 – Giant’s Causeway

1999 – Compton Admiral

1998 – Daylami

1997 – Pilsudski

1996 – Halling

1995 – Halling

1994 – Ezzoud

1993 – Opera House

1992 – Kooyonga

1991 – Environment Friend

1990 – Elmaamul

1989 – Nashwan

1988 – Mtoto

1987 – Mtoto

1986 – Dancing Brace

1985 – Pebbles

1984 – Sadler’s Wells

1983 – Solford

1982 – Kalaglow

1981 – Master Willie

1980 – Ela-Mana-Mou

1979 – Dickens Hill

1978 – Gunner B

1977 – Artaius

1976 – Wollow

View the latest horse racing odds



Andrew McDermott

Andrew is a sports betting content journalist at PA Media. He is a lifelong Huddersfield Town fan but when he isn't reminiscing about their Premier League days he is also a junior cricket coach and enjoys cycling.