Ayr Gold Cup, horse racing
Home  »    »  Khanjar favourite for Ayr Gold Cup glory

Khanjar favourite for Ayr Gold Cup glory

| 16.09.2022

Khanjar, ridden by Coral ambassador Jim Crowley, is the 9/2 favourite for Saturday’s Ayr Gold Cup following the final declarations for the sprint contest.

Commanche Falls is now second favourite at 8/1 ahead of Summerghand (9-1) while defending champion Bielsa is quoted at 12/1.

Coral’s David Stevens said: “With former 6/1 joint favourite Erosandpsyche not among the final field for this year’s Ayr Gold Cup, Khanjar is now a clear market leader to land what would be a useful contribution towards trainer William Haggas’ championship bid.”

A brave ride from Kevin Stott enabled Bielsa to secure big-race honours last year.

As the stalls opened, the majority of the field split into two groups, with several horses racing on the far side of the track and another batch going down the middle.

The Kevin Ryan-trained Bielsa, however, ploughed a lone furrow against the stands’ side rail, which ultimately proved a masterstroke.

Great Ambassador, the 3/1 favourite, careered clear of his rivals on the far side inside the final furlong but Bielsa galloped straight and true and was two and a quarter lengths clear passing the post.

Ayr Gold Cup odds

9/2 Khanjar

8/1 Commanche Falls

9/1 Summerghand

12/1 Bielsa, Gulliver

14/1 Mr Wagyu

16/1 Fivethousandtoone, Popmaster, Vadream

20/1 Bergerac, Chiefofchiefs, Documenting, Juan Les Pins, Lucky Man, Zarzyni

22/1 Admiral D, Tinto

25/1 Aleezdancer, Volatile Analyst

33/1 Motagally, Sir Dancealot, Escobar, Gis A Sub, Honey Sweet, Pendleton

Ayr Gold Cup winners

2000 – Bahamian Pirate

2001 – Continent

2002 – Funfair Wane

2003 – Quito

2004 – Funfair Wane

2005 – Presto Shinko

2006 – Fonthill Road

2007 – Advanced

2008 – Regal Parade

2009 – Jimmy Styles

2010 – Redford

2011 – Our Jonathan

2012 – Captain Ramius

2013 – Highland Colori

2014 – Louis the Pious

2015 – Don’t Touch

2016 – Brando

2017 – Donjuan Triumphant

2018 – Baron Bolt/Son of Rest (dead heat)

2019 – Angel Alexander

2020 – Nahaarr

2021 – Bielsa

View the latest horse racing odds

All odds and markets correct as of date of publication



Stuart Walker