Tiger Roll, Grand National Runners List, horse racing
Home  »    »  Grand National runners list: Final line-up is revealed

Grand National runners list: Final line-up is revealed

| 07.04.2022

Who are the Grand National runners for 2022?

The final field for the 2022 Grand National is finally revealed and there was some late drama with Farclas and Caribean Boy both dropping out of the reckoning to allow Eclair Surf (12/1) and Fortescue (33/1) to sneak into the field as the final two Grand National runners. 

With two-time winner Tiger Roll already removed from the list of possible runners alongside Conflated and Galvin, Henry de Bromhead’s Chris’s Dream joined them on the sidelines earlier this week .

That means last year’s victor Minella Times (14/1), who will be the mount of Rachael Blackmore, shoulders top weight and defends the trophy off a mark which is 15lb higher than 12 months ago.

Minella Times, Burrows Saint, Grand National runners list, horse racing

Ireland are responsible for exactly half of the 40 Grand National runners as they look to win the race for a fourth straight time and it is no surprise to see those from the Emerald Isle dominating the top of the Grand National odds.

Despite the absence of Tiger Roll, Gordon Elliott still has an extremely strong hand, saddling two of the top four in the Grand National betting with Delta Work (8/1) and Escaria Ten (10/1).

Delta Work, Grand National runners, horse racing

Others from Elliott’s Cullentra House stable to catch the eye include Run Wild Fred (20/1) and Mount Ida (20/1) off a mark of 156, who will attempt to become the first mare to win the race since Nickle Coin in 1951.

Last year’s third Any Second Now (8/1) is right towards the top of the betting following his victory in the Bobbyjo Chase. He has been given a mark of 159 to contend with, 7lb higher than in 2021.

Burrows Saint (20/1), fourth last time, shaped like the winner in 2021 before the petrol tank flashed empty two from home and is allowed to return off the same mark.

The Jonjo O’Neill-trained Cloth Cap (25/1), who was pulled up last April when sent off favourite in the hands of Coral ambassador Tom Scudamore, is 1lb lower this time around.

He is an interesting entrant, while others that catch the eye among the potential Grand National runners include Irish Grand National scorer Freewheelin Dylan (50/1), Mighty Thunder (33/1) and Becher Chase heroine Snow Leopardess (7/1), who has been backed into favouritism in recent days.


This year’s race is on Saturday April 9 at 5.15pm and will be live on ITV and Racing TV.

You can read more about the famous Aintree contest via our Grand National: Everything you need to know page while we also have a list of every single Grand National winner in history.

Grand National runners and riders (Horse/jockey)

1 Minella Times Rachael Blackmore
2 Delta Work Jack Kennedy
3 School Boy Hours Sean Flanagan
4 Any Second Now Mark Walsh
5 Run Wild Fred Davy Russell
6 Lostintranslation Harry Cobden
7 Brahma Bull Brian Hayes
8 Burrows Saint Paul Townend
9 Mount Ida Denis O’Regan
10 Longhouse Poet Darragh O’Keeffe
11 Fiddlerontheroof Brendan Powell
12 Two For Gold David Bass
13 Santini Nick Scholfield
14 Samcro Sean Bowen
15 Escaria Ten Adrian Heskin
16 Good Boy Bobby Daryl Jacob
17 Romain De Senam Philip Armson
18 Coko Beach Sean Flanagan
19 De Rasher Counter Adam Wedge
20 Kildisart James Bowen
21 Discorama Brian Cooper
22 Top Ville Ben Tommy Dowson
23 Enjoy D’Allen Conor Orr
24 Anibale Fly LP Dempsey
25 Dingo Dollar Ryan Mania
26 Freewheelin Dylan Ricky Doyle
27 Class Conti Sam Twiston-Davies
28 Noble Yeats Sam Waley-Cohen
29 Mighty Thunder Derek Fox
30 Cloth Cap Tom Scudamore
31 Snow Leopardess Aidan Coleman
32 Agusta Gold Danny Mullins
33 Commodore Charlie Deutsch
34 Deise Aba Tom O’Brien
35 Blaklion Harry Skelton
36 Poker Party Robbie Power
37 Death Duty Jordan Gainford
38 Domaine De L’Isle Harry Bannister
39 Eclair Surf Tom Bellamy
40 Fortescue Hugh Nugent

Guide to the Grand National fences

Latest Grand National odds

All odds and market correct at date of publication



Adam Morgan