Jordan Henderson
Home  »    »    »  Jordan Henderson to land PFA Player of the Year award?

Jordan Henderson to land PFA Player of the Year award?

| 04.03.2020

Liverpool captain’s chances have improved despite injury

Jordan Henderson has seen his odds to win the PFA Player of the Year award slashed after his injury coincided with Liverpool’s first league defeat of the season.

Liverpool are running away with the title but with Henderson sidelined due to a hamstring problem, they were surprisingly thrashed 3-0 at Watford on Saturday.

Jurgen Klopp’s side also crashed out of the FA Cup last night, with Henderson’s replacement Fabinho given the run-around by 18-year-old Billy Gilmour.

Henderson remains the second-favourite to scoop the award after his odds were slashed from 5/2 to 2/1.

The 29-year-old has familiar company as Liverpool’s stars dominate the betting and their reliance on the midfielder has convinced punters to back him for the award, despite Sadio Mane leading the way at 7/4.

PA 45779797

“It has been quite clear how much Liverpool have missed their skipper over the last couple of weeks,” said Coral’s John Hill.

“So despite Henderson being on the sidelines, his odds have been cut to win the PFA Player of the Year.

“Remarkably, Kevin De Bruyne is the only non-Liverpool player in the top six in the betting, a reflection of how many of Liverpool’s stars has shone this season.”

Despite the cracks beginning to show, Liverpool are still 22 points clear at the top of the Premier League and they remain the overwhelming favourites to lift the trophy at 1/500, with second-placed Manchester City priced at 66/1.

To win the PFA Player of the Year award

7/4 Sadio Mane, 2/1 Jordan Henderson, 7/2 Kevin De Bruyne, 9/2 Virgil van Dijk, 10/1 Trent Alexander-Arnold, 20/1 Mohamed Salah

View the latest football odds here.

All odds and markets correct as of date of publication



Harry Howes

Having previously worked on national newspapers, Harry is an experienced writer who is obsessed with all things football and Wilfried Zaha, even naming his cat after the future Ballon d’Or winner.