Coral UK Open, darts’ version of the FA Cup, draw is announced


Sam Barnard, Assistant Sports Editor | February 22, 2016

The first and second round draw for this year’s Coral UK Open, often refereed to as darts’ version of the football FA Cup, has now been announced, with a number of top names on show in the first session.

A whopping 128 players will take part at the Butlins Minehead Resort across three days, from Friday, March 4th until the 7th on Sunday, with Michael van Gerwen aiming to retain yet another title and claim the £60k winner’s prize.

The pick of the bunch in the first two rounds is 2012 champion and Premier League Darts star Robert Thornton, who is highly expected to knock out the winner of Arron Monk and Stewart Rattray.

Those in the top 32 players from the UK Open Order of Merit, meanwhile, have all been given byes until round three, which takes place in the afternoon on Friday, where the big names can be drawn with anyone due to there being no seedings – just like in the FA Cup.

That means, the likes of former champions Mighty Mike, Phil Taylor, Adrian Lewis, James Wade and Raymond van Barneveld, as well as world champion Gary Anderson, will be nervously awaiting their first opponent.

The magic of the Coral UK Open means that amateurs or pub players can lock horns with the world’s best, and every once in a while an upset or heroic run occurs, such as in 2014 when The Power was dumped out by little-known Aden Kirk.

Read on to find out the draw and tournament schedule…

2016 Coral UK Open schedule

Friday, March 4th

Afternoon Session (11:45-17:00)

Main Stage
First round
Mark Cox v Wes Newton
Ronny Huybrechts v Mark Rice
Dennis Smith v Alex Roy
Andy Smith v Jermaine Wattimena

Second round
Jeffrey de Graaf v William O’Connor/Mark Jodrill
Lee Evans v Rowby-John Rodriguez
Arron Monk/Stewart Rattray v Robert Thornton
Kevin Painter v John Scott/Dean Winstanley

Stage Two
First round
Andy Boulton v Lee Grimshaw
William O’Connor v Mark Jodrill
Jason Molds v Magnus Caris
Mick McGowan v Nathan Aspinall

Second round
Matt Clark v Mike De Decker
Joey Ten Berge v Mark Dudbridge
Brendan Dolan v Steven Rose/Scott Marsh
Darron Brown v Ryan Harrington/Glen McGrandle

Stage Three
First round
Kevin Dowling v Dick van Dijk
Curtis Turner v Jonathan Worsley
Arron Monk v Stewart Rattray
Barry Lynn v Dean Stewart

Second round
Gary Stone/Johnny Haines v Jamie Caven
Andy Brown/Mark Frost v Mark Barilli/Darren Layden
Yordi Meeuwisse v Robbie Green
Jay Foreman v Ronny Huybrechts/Mark Rice

Stage Four
First round
Ben Green v Jason Hogg
Michael McFall v Dirk van Duijvenbode
Harry Ward v Alan Tabern
Daniel Day v Paul Hogan

Second round
Wayne Jones v Andy Jenkins
Chris Jones/Paul Milford v Jason Heaver/Steve Maish
Harry Ward/Alan Tabern v Josh Payne/Dave Parletti
Darren Webster/Lee Morris v Scott Dale

Stage Five
First round
Mark Barilli v Darren Layden
Ian McFarlane v Jonny Clayton
Ryan De Vreede v Nathan Derry
Darren Webster v Lee Morris

Second round
Richie Corner v Berry van Peer
Dennis Smith/Alex Roy v Jeffrey de Zwaan
Barry Lynn/Dean Stewart v Brett Claydon
Jan Dekker/Andrew Davidson v Cristo Reyes

Stage Six
First round
Andy Brown v Mark Frost
Paul Whitworth v Joe Murnan
Jan Dekker v Andrew Davidson
Jason Heaver v Steve Maish

Second round
Les Delderfield/Mark Wilson v Matthew Edgar
David Pallett v Jason Marriott
Ian McFarlane/Jonny Clayton v James Wilson
Mark Cox/Wes Newton v Ken MacNeil/Rob Cross

Stage Seven
First round
Les Delderfield v Mark Wilson
John Scott v Dean Winstanley
Chris Jones v Paul Milford
Steven Rose v Scott Marsh

Second round
Paul Whitworth/Joe Murnan v Ritchie Edhouse
Michael McFall/Dirk van Duijvenbode v Peter Hudson
Andy Smith/Jermaine Wattimena v Kevin Dowling/Dick van Dijk
Jason Molds/Magnus Caris v Ben Green/Jason Hogg

Stage Eight
First round
Gary Stone v Johnny Haines
Ken MacNeil v Rob Cross
Ryan Harrington v Glen McGrandle
Josh Payne v Dave Parletti

Second round
Curtis Turner/Jonathan Worsley v Andy Boulton/Lee Grimshaw
Andrew Gilding v Ryan De Vreede/Nathan Derry
Daniel Day/Paul Hogan v Tony Newell
Mick McGowan/Nathan Aspinall v Stuart Kellett

Evening Session (19:00-23:00)
Third Round

Saturday, March 5th

Afternoon Session (12:30-17:00)
Fourth Round

Evening Session (19:00-23:00)
Fifth Round

Sunday, March 6th

Afternoon Session (12:45-17:00)

Evening Session (19:00-23:00)


First round – Best of 11 legs
Second round – Best of 11 legs
Third round – Best of 17 legs
Fourth round – Best of 17 legs
Fifth round – Best of 17 legs
Quarter-finals – Best of 19 legs
Semi-finals – Best of 19 legs
Final – Best of 21 legs

Prize fund

Winner £60k
Runner-Up £30k
Semi-Finalists £17k
Quarter-Finalists £10k
Fifth Round Losers £5k
Fourth Round Losers £3k
Third Round Losers £1500
Total £300k


Check out our darts archive for more content.

Latest Articles