Bookies suspend betting on Martinez exit


Leading bookmaker Coral has suspended betting this morning on Roberto Martinez leaving Everton before the opening game of the 2016/17 Premier League season due to a flurry of bets. Before Coral pulled the plug on the market, Martinez was 1-4 to depart before next season and 5-2 to still be in charge.

Coral has already opened betting on who will be the next permanent Everton manager in which they make Frank de Boer the odds-on favourite at 5-6, Stoke boss Mark Hughes is 9-2 and David Moyes is 8-1 for a return to Goodison Park.

“The weight of support behind this gamble on Martinez leaving Everton does suggest it may  just be a matter of time so we have decided to pull the plug on betting until the dust settles,” said Coral’s John Hill.

“Frank de Boer has recently left his job at Ajax and we make him the odds-on favourite to replace Martinez at Goodison Park,” added Hill.

Following Newcastle’s relegation from the Premier League last night, Coral make the North East club 4-1 to win the 2016/17 Championship and 6-4 to gain promotion next season. Rafa Benitez is 11-8 to still be in charge of the club for the opening game of the new campaign and 8-15 to leave before then.

Norwich, who were also relegated last night, are 10-3 with Coral to return back to the Premier League next season, while the Canaries can be backed at 9-1 with the firm to win the Championship next year.

In Coral’s betting to make the England squad for Euro 2016, Sunderland forward Jermain Defoe is a 10-1 outsider with firm to be selected by Roy Hodgson.

**Next permanent Everton manager

5-6 Frank de Boer, 9-2 Mark Hughes, 8 David Moyes, 10 Ronald Koeman, Manuel Pellegrini, 20 Eddie Howe, Martin O’Neill, 25 Lucien Favre, 33 Bar.

**Newcastle 2016/17 specials

6-4 To be promoted from the Championship, 4 To win the Championship

**Rafa Benitez to be in charge of Newcastle for the opening game of the 2016/17 Championship season

11-8 Yes, 8-15 No

**Norwich 2016/17 specials

10-3 To be promoted from the Championship, 9 To win the Championship

**To make England Euro 2016 squad

1-100 Joe Hart, 1-50 Dele Alli, 1-33 Gary Cahill, Eric Dier, Fraser Forster, Harry Kane, Wayne Rooney, Chris Smalling, Jamie Vardy,  1-25 James Milner, 1-16 Ross Barkley, Adam Lallana, Danny Rose, John Stones, 1-14 Raheem Sterling, 1-12 Nathaniel Clyne, 1-8 Tom Heaton, Daniel Sturridge, 1-5 Jordan Henderson, Jack Wilshere, 1-4 Danny Drinkwater, Kyle Walker, 1-3 Ryan Bertrand, 1-2 Phil Jagielka, 4-7 Ben Foster, 8-13 Theo Walcott, Evs Luke Shaw, Andros Townsend, 13-10 Fabian Delph, 11-8 Phil Jones, 5-2 Leighton Baines, 3 Michael Carrick, 4 Andy Carroll, 5 Marcus Rashford, 6 Kieran Gibbs, 8 Jonjo Shelvey, 10 Jermain Defoe, Aaron Lennon, Mark Noble, 12 Bar


Further contact information:

John Hill 07889 645520

Latest Articles