Sri Lanka
Home  »    »  England draw title holders Sri Lanka for 2016 World Twenty20

England draw title holders Sri Lanka for 2016 World Twenty20

| 12.12.2015

Sam Barnard, Assistant Sports Editor | December 11, 2015

2016 World Twenty20 groups draw

The 2016 ICC World Twenty20 draw has been announced, ahead of the international tournament in India from March 8th to April 3rd, and England have been drawn with title holders and current top-ranked 20-over nation Sri Lanka (15/2 title chances with Coral) in Group 1.

India Twenty20 World Cup

In what is a difficult-looking pool, also featuring South Africa (11/2), West Indies (9/1) and the winning of minnows Group B, Trevor Bayliss’ men (7/1) have perhaps got lucky as they could’ve had even tougher opposition.

Group 2 boasts hosts India (3/1 favourites), 2015 ICC Cricket World Cup finalists Australia (5/1) and New Zealand (15/2), Pakistan (9/1) and the victor of Group A.

One of Bangladesh, Netherlands, Ireland or Oman will be looking to join them, while Zimbabwe, Scotland, Hong Kong and Afghanistan will vie for a place in 2010 champions England’s group.

Morgan needs to decide on team

Eoin Morgan File Photo

Ahead of the tournament next spring, captain Eoin Morgan is still unsure of who he and the selectors will pick, despite a promising 3-0 T20 series win over Pakistan in the UAE.

“I don’t know what my best XI is but it’s not a concern,” said the Irishman. “The rationale behind our rotation is long-term development.”

“With the rotation throughout this series we can go through a stage of picking the guys in form from 15-17 names.

“That breeds a good culture and the guys are really buying into it. We’ve seen such good performances throughout this tour.”

But at least England have time on their side, with the tournament beginning with the qualifying match between Zimbabwe and Hong Kong on match 8th in Nagpur, and ending with the final on April 8th at the Eden Gardens in Kolkata.

England women draw hosts India

Cricket - Women's Ashes 2015 - First Twenty20 - England v Australia - Essex County Ground

The Women’s World Twenty20 will also take place simultaneously, though starting March 15th, and 2009 champions England will face West Indies, India, Pakistan and Bangladesh in their Group B.

Title holders and third-time winners Australia, meanwhile, have been drawn South Africa, New Zealand, Sri Lanka and Ireland.

First round (group winners progress to second round)
Group A: Bangladesh, Netherlands, Ireland and Oman
Group B: Zimbabwe, Scotland, Hong Kong and Afghanistan

Second round (top two progress to semi-finals)
Group 1: Sri Lanka, South Africa, West Indies, England and winner of Group B
Group 2: India, Pakistan, Australia, New Zealand and winner of Group A

Women’s first round (top two progress to semi-finals)
Group A: Australia, South Africa, New Zealand, Sri Lanka and Ireland
Group B: England, West Indies, India, Pakistan and Bangladesh


Check out more in our cricket archive.



Sam Barnard

Sam has been writing for Coral since January 2014, and is the assistant editor of the news site. As well as the main betting sports, football, tennis and cricket, he covers the likes of golf, F1 and darts too, the latter of which has become a particular favourite. Sam enjoys playing as much as writing about sports, but niggling injuries have limited his participation in recent years, so is happy to mainly watch the pros such as Manchester United, Yorkshire CCC, Raymond van Barneveld and even Gibraltar national football team instead.