Home  »    »  Rutherford, Farah, Ennis-Hill in Team GB World Athletics Championships squad

Rutherford, Farah, Ennis-Hill in Team GB World Athletics Championships squad

| 28.07.2015

Olympic Heptathlon champion Jessica Ennis-Hill will compete in the IAAF World Athletics Championships in Beijing in August, after being named in the British squad alongside fellow multi-discipline sportswoman Katarina Johnson-Thompson.

Fellow London 2012 gold medallists Mo Farah and Greg Rutherford are other big names on the Team GB roster. Double world and Olympic men’s long distance Farah is expected to once again double up and defend both the 5000m and 10000m titles in China.

Rutherford, meanwhile, will be going for a clean sweep of major medals with just a world title eluding him following his victory in the Glasgow Commonwealth Games men’s long jump last summer.

Teenage sprinter Dina Asher-Smith is picked for both women’s 200m, despite becoming the first British lady to run 100m in under 11 seconds at the London Anniversary Games.

Women’s world 400m champion Christine Ohuruogu is also included, but will have to continue her knack of peaking at the perfect time for major events in order to retain her title.

Athletics - Sainsbury's Anniversary Games - Day Two - The Stadium at Queen Elizabeth Olympic Park

Shara Proctor, who extended her British women’s long jump record, is another medal hope for Team GB in the field events.

In the men’s sprints, Adam Gemili and Martyn Rooney will have to be content with relay squad spots in the 4x100m and 4x400m respectively. Neither are eligible to feature in their individual events with other fitter options favoured.

James Dasaolu is the main 100m hope, though watch out for CJ Ujah in that event and Anguilla-born Zharnel Hughes in the 200m, who shares a coach with men’s sprint world records holder Usain Bolt.

The Bird’s Nest stadium, which was used for the 2008 Beijing Olympics, plays host to the World Athletics Championships between August 22nd and 30th.

Great Britain and Northern Ireland squad in full for 2015 IAAF World Athletics Championships
Male athletes
100m: James Dasaolu, Richard Kilty, Chijindu “CJ” Ujah
200m: Zharnel Hughes, Danny Talbot
400m: Jarryd Dunn, Rabah Yousif Bkheit
800m: Kyle Langford, Michael Rimmer
1500m: Charlie Grice (Jon Bigg), Chris O’Hare
5000m: Mo Farah, Tom Farrell
10000m: Mo Farah
110m Hurdles: Lawrence Clarke
400m Hurdles: Niall Flannery
High Jump: Robbie Grabarz
Long Jump: Dan Bramble, Greg Rutherford
Pole Vault: Steve Lewis
Hammer Throw: Mark Dry, Nick Miller
20k Walk: Tom Bosworth
4x100m: Harry Aikines-Aryeetey, James Ellington, Adam Gemili, Richard Kilty, Danny Talbot, Chijindu “CJ” Ujah
4x400m: Jack Green, Martyn Rooney, Conrad Williams, Delano Williams, Jarryd Dunn, Rabah Yousif Bkheit

Female athletes
100m: Asha Philip
200m: Margaret Adeoye, Dina Asher-Smith, Bianca Williams
400m: Christine Ohuruogu, Anyika Onuora
800m: Jenny Meadows, Shelayna Oskan-Clarke, Lynsey Sharp
1500m: Laura Muir, Laura Weightman
5000m: Steph Twell
10000m: Kate Avery
100m Hurdles: Cindy Ofili, Tiffany Porter
400m Hurdles: Meghan Beesley, Eilidh Child
High Jump: Morgan Lake, Isobel Pooley
Long Jump: Katarina Johnson-Thompson, Shara Proctor, Lorraine Ugen
Pole Vault: Holly Bradshaw
Hammer Throw: Sophie Hitchon
Javelin: Goldie Sayers
Heptathlon: Jessica Ennis-Hill, Katarina Johnson-Thompson
4x100m: Louise Bloor, Desiree Henry, Jodie Williams, Darryll Neita, Asha Philip, Dina Asher-Smith, Bianca Williams
4x400m: Kirsten McAslan, Seren Bundy-Davies, Laviai Nielson, Margaret Adeoye, Eilidh Child, Christine Ohuruogu, Anyika Onuora



Jamie Clark

Athletics aficionado, die-hard snooker fan and Crystal Palace supporter Jamie has written for Coral since February 2014 after spells with Soccerlens and the Press Association as a digital journalist and copywriter. A former East Midlands sports correspondent and Bwin tipster, he is a graduate of both the University of York and University of Sheffield, with a Masters in web journalism from the latter.