James Rodriguez kiss small
Home  »    »  FIFA Puskas Award: Best goal nominees for 2014 and past winners

FIFA Puskas Award: Best goal nominees for 2014 and past winners

| 12.01.2015

The prestigious FIFA Puskas Award (named after Hungarian and Real Madrid great Ferenc Puskas) is now in its sixth year. A total of 10 names have been nominated for the 2014 edition, and the prize will be announced on January 12th 2015, on the same day of the FIFA Ballon d’Or. Check out this years entrants below…

James Rodriguez

Diego Costa

Zlatan Ibrahimovic

Tim Cahill

Camilo Sanvezzo

Stephanie Roche

Pajtim Kasami

Hisato Sato

Marco Fabian

Robin Van Persie

We have also looked back at 5 of the best from previous years, enjoy

The likes of James Rodríguez (13/10 favourite to win), Robin van Persie (7/2), Zlatan Ibrahimovic (10/1) and Irish woman Stephanie Roche (also 10/1) make this years’ shortlist. Tim Cahill, Diego Costa (both 8/1), Marco Fabian (25/1), Pajtim Kasami (14/1), Camilo Sanvezzo and Hisato Sato (both 50/1) are the other stars named. So who will be the one to emulate the five previous victors of this award?

Here is footage of that quintet of winners, from 2009-2013, who set the benchmark.

Cristiano Ronaldo: Manchester United v Porto (2009)
The current Ballon d’Or holder won the first edition of this award in a close four horse race to snatch the prize. But what a goal it was. The Portuguese attacker, now at Real Madrid, smashed a wonder strike from 40 yards in his homeland to help his side progress from the Champions league quarter-finals.

Hamit Altintop: Turkey v Kazakhstan (2010)
Turkey international and former Bayern Munich star midfielder Altintop scored the second in his nation’s 3-0 Euro 2012 qualifier away win over Kazakhstan. From a corner, the current Galatasaray player guided his effort on the volley on the far side edge of the area to the top corner of the net. Little known Northern Irishman Matty Burrows came third that year.

Neymar: Santos v Flamengo (2011)
This goal had everything, and it really had to be special to beat Wayne Rooney’s astonishing overhead kick in the Manchester derby. The then teenage sensation used his pace, passing ability and trickery to weave his way past the Flamengo side before his final finishing move. His team lost 5-4 that day, though.

Miroslav Stoch: Fenerbahce v Genclerbirligi (2012)
Another volley from the corner, former diminutive Chelsea player Stoch did it from the other side, to catch out the opposition keeper in a 6-1 Turkish Super Lig thrashing. The Slovakian gained a whopping 78 per cent of the votes that year.

Zlatan Ibrahimovic: Sweden v England (2013)
Last year’s edition was won by the evergreen Ibrahimovic, despite his goal being scored at the end of 2012, just past the cut-off point for the previous award. The inventive Swede took advantage of Joe Hart’s poor headed clearance to acrobatically loop the ball into the goal with a bicycle kick.



Sam Barnard

Sam has been writing for Coral since January 2014, and is the assistant editor of the news site. As well as the main betting sports, football, tennis and cricket, he covers the likes of golf, F1 and darts too, the latter of which has become a particular favourite. Sam enjoys playing as much as writing about sports, but niggling injuries have limited his participation in recent years, so is happy to mainly watch the pros such as Manchester United, Yorkshire CCC, Raymond van Barneveld and even Gibraltar national football team instead.