2017 PDC World Darts Championship draw reaction: Anderson begins defence v Frosty The Throw Man

2017 PDC World Championship final preview Michael van Gerwen v Gary Anderson odds

2017 World Darts Championship draw

It’s been a riveting winter of darts majors and televised arrow events, but now the warm-up to the big one begins as the 2017 PDC World Darts Championship draw has been made. Let’s be honest, it is what we have all been waiting for!

The dust has not yet gathered on the oche where Michael van Gerwen lifted the 2016 Players Championship Finals trophy, but already attention is turning to whether the world number one can reclaim the world title after winning four televised tournaments on the trot.

MvG is the odds-on 8/13 favourite to come away with the spoils at Alexandra Palace for amazingly what would be just the second time in his incredible career.

Mighty Mike begins his quest for the crown against one of preliminary round players Ross Snook or Kim Viljanen. While the Dutch superstar’s path to the quarter-finals could contain clashes with the likes of young talent Dimitri van den Bergh, veterans Simon Whitlock and Mensur Suljovic plus underdog Darren Webster, who almost gave Van Gerwen a shock in the Players Championship Finals semis.

Anderson handed easy start

The Flying Scotsman stars first in a festive Frosty The Throw Man fixture, as reigning world champ Gary Anderson looks to have bagged a slightly easier half of the draw as he plots his defence of the Sid Waddell trophy.

Anderson is looking to make it three World Darts Championship titles on the trot, and despite recent wobbles, is unlikely to be given the elbow by first round opponent Mark Frost, ranked 75th in the world.

Dave Chisnall and Jelle Klaasen are the immediate biggest threats in the Scotsman’s half of the draw, at least up to the quarters stage, making Anderson an enticing 6/1 to retain.

Things look similarly smooth for Anderson’s compatriot Peter Wright, who is 10/1 to snare the biggest arrow trophy of them all as his search for a maiden major continues.

Snakebite starts his Ally Pally journey against either Jerry Hendriks or Warren Parry and could potentially meet James Wade at the quarter-finals stage.

Barney and The Power could clash early

Things look much more perilous for former multiple world champions Raymond van Barneveld and Phil Taylor, who have been drawn in the same half and could also face duels against Adrian Lewis, Kim Huybrechts and Max Hopp in their section, before a potential collision with Van Gerwen if either reach the semis stage.

Barney (40/1 for glory) begins proceedings with a tough battle against recently in-form Robbie Green, while Taylor (9/1 to triumph) takes to the oche first against one from preliminary players John Bowles and David Platt. Last year’s runner-up Lewis is not to be forgotten either, despite a run of poor form, and is a 33/1 shout to go on and hit the Jackpot after taking on Swede Magnus Caris for his opener.

2017 PDC World Darts Championship preliminary round draw

Jerry Hendriks v Warren Parry
Zoran Lerchbacher v Simon Stevenson
Tengku Shah v Masumi Chino
Kevin Simm v Gilberto Ulang
Qiang Sun v Corey Cadby
John Bowles v David Platt
Ross Snook v Kim Viljanen
Boris Koltsov v Dragutin Horvat

2017 PDC World Darts Championship first round draw

Michael van Gerwen v Snook/Viljanen
Gary Anderson v Mark Frost
Peter Wright v Hendriks/Parry
Phil Taylor v Bowles/Platt
Adrian Lewis v Magnus Caris
James Wade v Ronny Huybrechts
Dave Chisnall v Rowby-John Rodriguez
Mensur Suljovic v Ron Meulenkamp
Robert Thornton v Lerchbacher/Stevenson
Jelle Klaasen v Jeffrey de Graaf
Michael Smith v Ricky Evans
Raymond van Barneveld v Robbie Green
Kim Huybrechts v James Wilson
Ian White v Simm/Gilberto Ulang
Benito van de Pas v Shah/Chino
Stephen Bunting v Darren Webster
Simon Whitlock v Koltsov/Horvat
Terry Jenkins v Josh Payne
Gerwyn Price v Jonny Clayton
Vincent van der Voort v Max Hopp
Alan Norris v John Michael
Mervyn King v Steve West
Brendan Dolan v Christian Kist
Daryl Gurney v Jermaine Wattimena
Mark Webster v Joe Murnan
Justin Pipe v Chris Dobey
Steve Beaton v Devon Petersen
Joe Cullen v Sun/Cadby
Jamie Caven v Kevin Painter
Jamie Lewis v Mick McGowan
John Henderson v Andrew Gilding
Cristo Reyes v Dimitri van den Bergh


For more on the 2017 PDC World Darts Championship, check out our dedicated arrow archive.

Latest Articles