2016 Coral Scottish Grand National stats guide


David Metcalf | April 14, 2016

The Coral Scottish Grand National takes centre stage at Ayr on Saturday, April 16th, with a maximum field of 30 set to go to post.

Here’s our expert’s guide to the leading trends for the stamina sapping test which is run over 3m 7f and 176 yards and sees runners tackle 27 fences.


Hello Bud (2009), Merigo (2010) and Wayward Prince (2015) won the race aged 11.

Seven of the last 10 runnings have been won by horses between the ages of seven and 10, and three of the last six runnings have been won by nine-year-olds.

Godsmejudge become the first in 12 years to win at the age of seven in 2013.

Irish trained runners

Raiders from the Emerald Isle have a poor record in the race, with the last winner coming 147 years ago in 1869 when it was run at Bogside, and there are a whole host of leading contenders heading over for this year’s contest.

Trainer Mouse Morris is bidding for a unique National treble with Folsom Blue, having saddled Rogue Angel to win the Irish Grand National and Ruler of the World to land the Crabbie’s Grand National at Aintree in recent weeks.


No jockey has dominated the race, but Wayne Hutchinson partnered Godsmedjudge to win in 2013 and finish runner-up in 2014. He is set to partner Midnight Prayer in this year’s renewal.

Starting Price

No favourite has won since Paris Pike in 2000.

There have been just three winners below 10/1 since 2003, who were all sent off 15/2, and there have been some shock results with Iris De Balme winning at 66/1 in 2008, Al Co at 40/1 in 2014, and Wayward Prince last year at 25/1.


Champion trainer Paul Nicholls won the race in 1997 with Belmont King, but has drew a blank since despite saddling over 20 runners.

The Ditcheat handler has a strong entry in this year’s race as he bids to fend of Willie Mullins to retain his British National Hunt Trainers’ title. They include Vicente, who is the choice of stable jockey Sam Twiston-Davies.

Father Nigel Twiston-Davies has been successful three times, courtesy of Captain Dibble (1992), Earth Summit (1994) and Hello Bud (2009). Alan King saddled Godsmejudge to win in 2013 and finish runner-up in 2014.


Eight of the last 12 winners carried 10st 6lb or less and horses out of the handicap have won three of the last 11.

Only one horse, Godsmejudge in 2013, has carried over 11st to victory in the last decade.


For more on the Scottish Grand National meeting, visit our Ayr page.

Latest Articles